ليونارد فينك: تصوير شارع كريستوفر

ليونارد فينك: تصوير شارع كريستوفر

كان ليونارد فينك مصور LGBT + و "العمدة غير الرسمي لشارع كريستوفر".

يجلس تشارلي على طاولة بلياردو ، وشعره مصفف بطريقة صحيحة إلى الخلف ووضعه غير رسمي بشكل مقصود. يمسك بيرة في يده وفي اليد الأخرى سترة جلدية. يفصل شعاع الضوء الذي يأتي عبر النافذة بينه وبين البار المزدحم ، وعلى الرغم من مدى انفتاح المكان على العالم المستقيم بالخارج ، فإن الجدران مزينة بالفن المثير والشارات الجلدية. تتدلى البالونات المتناثرة من السقف ، مما يشير إلى انتهاء الحفلة للتو أو أنها وشيكة. هذا تشارلي داخل رامرود. واحدة من آلاف الصور التي التقطها ليونارد فينك ، مواطن كريستوفر ستريت ، والتي توثق الحياة اليومية للأفراد المثليين الذين عاشوا في نيويورك خلال الستينيات والسبعينيات من القرن الماضي.

في الأسابيع والأشهر التي أعقبت أعمال الشغب في ستونوول ، كان كريستوفر ستريت خلية من النشاط الراديكالي. مستوحاة من أحداث 28 يونيو 1969 ، نزل المثليون من جميع أنحاء نيويورك إلى الشوارع. التنظيم والدعاية والاحتجاج. خلال هذه الفترة ، تم تشكيل مجموعات مثل جبهة تحرير المثليين وأصبح النشاط الشعبي متشددًا بشكل متزايد. كان من الواضح ، لقد كان لدى الأشخاص المثليين ما يكفي.

لم يحصل أولئك الذين يطالبون بالمساواة بأي حال من الأحوال على أي شيء فوري ، واستمرت المداهمات على حانات ونوادي المثليين في جميع أنحاء مدينة نيويورك بعد فترة طويلة من الأحداث في أرفض التعاون نزل. ولكن كان هناك تغيير ، كان الناس منتبهين ، مما أفسح المجال أمام شكل أكثر وضوحًا من التمرد. بعد عام واحد ، في ذكرى أعمال الشغب في Stonewall ، شهدت نيويورك أول مسيرة فخر للمثليين في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة.

ومع ذلك ، في الوقت الذي كانت فيه وحشية الشرطة والتمييز في مكان العمل والقتل تهديدات موجودة على الإطلاق للأشخاص المثليين ، تظهر العديد من الصور التي توثق هذه الفترة حقيقة قاسية ومحزنة وصعبة لأولئك الذين يعيشون على هامش المجتمع.

وأرفض التعاون نزل

عمل ليونارد فينك في دائرة النقل بالمدينة ، وكان مصورًا هواةًا شغوفًا واختار أن ينفق الكثير من دخله على لوازم التصوير. عاش في غرب قرية وكان شخصية مشهورة ونابضة بالحياة ، وغالبًا ما يُرى وهو يرتدي أحذية التزلج على الجليد ويقطع السراويل القصيرة ، دائمًا مع كاميرا حول رقبته. ومع ذلك ، كان تصويره الفوتوغرافي شغفًا خاصًا ، ولم يعرض Fink صوره مطلقًا ولم يقدم سوى عدد قليل من المطبوعات لمجموعة مختارة من الأصدقاء.

يأتي جمال صور فينك من حقيقة أنه لم يكن غريبًا. لم تكن نواياه تصوير "البائس" و "العاهر" ، فقد كان جزءًا من المجتمع في ويست فيليدج ، حتى أنه حصل على لقب "العمدة غير الرسمي لشارع كريستوفر". أصالة صور فينك واضحة بشكل لافت للنظر. يظهرون رجالا يتبادلون القبلات ، ويسيرون ، وحمامات الشمس ، ويرقصون. على عكس غالبية الفن والتصوير الفوتوغرافي الذي يلتقط هذه الحقبة ، فإن الرجال في صور ليونارد فينك ليسوا مضطهدين ويكافحون.

ركز الكثير من أعمال فينك على الأرصفة في ويست ستريت ، وهي منطقة إبحار شهيرة ومنطقة اجتماعية لمجتمع الكوير. تُظهر الصور شديدة التعرض أرصفة ممتلئة بأجساد رجال ، مستلقين ويجلسون في محادثة عادية. يصور آخرون الأفراد الحذرين الذين يحاولون الإبحار وسط مناخ من شرك الشرطة والمضايقات. من خلال كونه جزءًا من المجتمع الذي كان يصور فيه ومن خلال تركيز عمله حول منطقة ترمز إلى تجربته الخاصة بعد الجدار الحجري ، صور فينك دنيوية الحياة اليومية لأولئك الذين هم في مركز حركة تحرير المثليين. حتى أنها تمكنت من التقاط لحظات الفرح والنشوة.

توفي فينك في عام 1993 من مضاعفات مرتبطة بالإيدز ، بعد أن لم يعرض صوره على الإطلاق وظلت موهبته الفنية مجهولة إلى حد كبير. في عام 2021 ، قام مركز مجتمع المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميول الجنسية والمتحولين جنسياً بجمع العديد من أعماله جنبًا إلى جنب مع المعلومات والسياق حول الصور لمعرض عبر الإنترنت سيخلد تصوير فينك الفريد والأصيل للحياة خلال حركة تحرير المثليين استحوذ فينك على ما لم يفعله الآخرون. أدى موقعه في قلب أحد أسرع التغييرات الاجتماعية في تاريخ الولايات المتحدة إلى إنشاء مجموعة من الصور التي تحكي قصة أعمق وأكثر إنسانية عن الأشخاص الذين سيحدثون ثورة في النضال من أجل حقوق مجتمع الميم.


Published: 08-Feb-2021 by George Pizani   |   On: مثلي الجنس مدينة نيويورك

جولات وتجارب مدينة نيويورك

تصفح مجموعة الجولات المختارة بعناية في مدينة نيويورك من شركائنا مع إلغاء مجاني قبل 24 ساعة من بدء جولتك.


فنادق مميزة في مدينة نيويورك

Leonard Fink: Photographing Christopher Street

Leonard Fink: Photographing Christopher Street

Leonard Fink was an LGBT+ photographer and the “Unofficial Mayor of Christopher Street”.

Charley sits atop a pool table, his hair is immaculately coiffed back and his pose is purposefully casual. He clutches a beer in one hand and in the other, a leather jacket. The beam of light that comes through the window separates him from the crowded bar and despite how open the venue is to the straight world outside, the walls are decorated with erotic art and leather insignia. Scattered balloons hang from the ceiling, suggesting a party has either just ended or is imminent. This is Charley inside Ramrod; one of the thousands of photographs shot by Christopher Street native Leonard Fink that document the day to day lives of the queer individuals who lived in New York during the 1960s and 70s.

In the weeks and months following the Stonewall riots, Christopher Street was a hive of radical activism. Inspired by the events of the 28th June 1969 queer people from across New York had taken to the streets; organising, campaigning and protesting. During this period groups such as The Gay Liberation Front were formed and grassroots activism became increasingly militant. It was clear, Queer people had had enough.

By no means did those demanding equality get it with any immediacy, and raids on gay bars and clubs throughout New York City went on long after the events at the Stonewall Inn. But there was a change, people were paying attention and this gave way to a more obvious form of rebellion; one-year later, on the anniversary of the Stonewall riots, New York saw the first gay pride march in U.S history.

However, in a time were police brutality, workplace discrimination and murder were ever present threats for queer people, many of the photographs documenting this period show a harsh, sad and difficult reality for those living on the margins of society.

Join the Travel Gay Newsletter

The Stonewall Inn

Leonard Fink worked for the city’s transit department, he was an avid amateur photographer and chose to spend much of his income on photography supplies. He lived in the West Village and was a well known and vibrant character, often seen wearing roller skates and cut off shorts, always with a camera around his neck. His photography, however, was a private passion, Fink never displayed his photographs and only gave a handful of prints to a select group of friends.

The beauty of Fink’s images come from the fact that he wasn’t an outsider. His intentions weren’t to photograph the “seedy” and “salacious”, he was part of the community in the West Village, even earning the nickname of “Unofficial Mayor of Christopher Street”. The authenticity of Fink’s photographs is strikingly clear. They show men kissing, marching, sunbathing and dancing. Unlike the majority of art and photography that captures this era, the men in Leonard Fink’s images aren’t downtrodden and struggling.

Much of Fink’s work focused on the piers on West Street, a popular cruising and social area for the queer community. The highly exposed photographs show piers full of male bodies, lying and sitting in casual conversation. Others depict the cautious individuals attempting to cruise amidst a climate of police entrapment and harassment. By being part of the community he was photographing and by centring his work around an area that symbolised his own post-stonewall queer experience, Fink portrayed the mundanity of daily lives for those at the centre of the gay liberation movement. Even managing to capture moments of joy and ecstasy.

Fink died in 1993 from AIDS-related complications, having never shown his photographs and his artistic talent remaining largely unknown. In 2021 the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Community Centre collated several of his pieces along with information and context around the photographs for an online exhibition that will immortalise Fink’s unique and authentic portrayal of life during the gay liberation movement. Fink captured what most others did not. His position at the centre of one of U.S history’s most rapid social changes has created a portfolio of images that tell a deeper and more human story of the people who would revolutionize the struggle for LGBTQ+ rights.


Published: 08-Feb-2021 by George Pizani   |   Last Updated: 08-Feb-2021
On: Gay New York City

New York City Tours and Experiences

Browse our handpicked selection of tours in New York City from our partners with free cancellation 24 hours before your tour starts.


Featured New York City Hotels